General Information

Radio has a venerable history at Vassar with the earliest shows airing in 1938. From those earliest broadcasts, the college has sought eclectic and informative programming pertinent to the community.

In the early 1970’s, WVKR Vassar College Radio was born. Starting as an AM current carrier station, WVKR broadcast from Main Building up to twenty-one hours per day via a campus-only closed circuit. With the emergence of broad popularity for FM broadcasting, Vassar petitioned for and was granted an FCC license to switch to FM and broadcast on 91.3 MHz over an 18 mile radius via a 10 watt transmitter atop Main Building. The station strove to broadcast up to twenty hours per day during the academic year.

Over the years, year-round programming, 24-hour programming, and a strong signal have been incorporated. Since 1994, WVKR has been broadcasting at 3400 watts and the transmitter sits on the west side of the Hudson River. In addition to Vassar students, DJs also come from the surrounding community. Although the station has undergone many changes the mission has stayed very much the same: “to promote music not heard elsewhere and to serve the community interest through eclectic radio programming”.

Via broadcast, WVKR has been heard in five states (NY, MA, CT, NJ, and PA). Via webcast, accessible from the WVKR home page (www.wvkr.org), listeners in Japan, Sweden, Brazil, and outposts unknown have tuned into the same shows you do on 91.3 MHz.

Contact

WVKR-FM
124 Raymond Ave
Box 726
Poughkeepsie, NY 12604

generalmanager //at// wvkr //dot// org

Directions and Parking Information 

We are located at Vassar College (124 Raymond Ave. Poughkeepsie, NY 12604) in the Main Building on the 3rd floor (non-residential side). We recommend walking through Main Building, taking a right so that you find the Retreat –the cafe in Main Building– and then walking straight back and slightly to the left of the Retreat to the elevator at the end of that hall. Take the elevator to the 3rd floor and you’ll find the station directly across from the elevator. If you need assistance, the Campus Resource Center desk is directly inside Main Building.

Parking is available on Vassar’s campus. Just inside Main Gate, on either side of the street leading up to Main building (Main Campus Drive) parking is allowed. Additional parking may be available in the Main Circle (the road that circles Main building) as well as Pratt Lot. For more information, please refer to https://info.vassar.edu/visit/maps/.

Phone Directory (Please make sure you call the office that can best respond to your inquiry.)

Requests: 845.437.7178

Business Office: 845.437.5475

Music Office: 845.437.5476

Station Manager: 845.437.7010

Staff, 2017-2018

General Manager: Lena Redford, generalmanager //at// wvkr //dot// org

Station Manager: Marco Pittarelli, stationmanager //at// wvkr //dot// org

Program Director: Alec Shashaty, programdirector //at// wvkr //dot// org

Music Directors: James Fast, Nick Garrison, and Braiden Morris, wvkrmd //at// vassar //dot//edu

Promotions Director: Delphine Douglas, promotions //at// wvkr //dot// org

Finance Director: Alexia Garcia, finance //at// wvkr //dot// org

News Director: Saskia Globig and Paul Kennedy, newsdirector //at// wvkr //dot// org

Technology Director: Corin Rose, techdirector //at// wvkr //dot// org

Visual Designer: Jonathan Rodriguez, visualdesigner //at// wvkr //dot// org

Genre Directors, 2015-2016

Electronic Director: Kiki Walker (Fall 2017), Ichar Heffernan (Spring 2018), electronic //at// wvkr //dot// org

Blues Director and Faculty Advisor: Nick de Leeuw, blues //at// wvkr //dot// org

Jazz Director: Ellis Thompson, jazzdirector //at// wvkr //dot// org

Folk Director: D.B. Brown, folk //at// wvkr //dot// org

World Director: Alex Brown, worldmusicdirector //at// wvkr //dot// org

New Age Director: Scott Raymond, newage //at// wvkr //dot// org

Hip Hop Music Director: Joshua Ramirez, hiphop // at // wvkr // org